设计指南

今天,MIM被广泛运用到各个汽车、医疗、电子、工业、消费等各行业,产品涉及包括汽车配件、航空航天器材、移动电话、牙科仪器、电子散热器和密封包装、电子连接器硬件、工业工具、光纤连接器、喷雾系统、盘驱动器、医疗设备、手持电动工具、手术器械和运动器材等

MIM产品通常具有以下特性

复杂性: 复杂性: MIM和注塑成型一样,形状设计没有限制。由于MIM是一个成型过程,附加的产品特性不会增加成本,这使得MIM成为将独立零件组合成多功能的产品的理想途径。MIM设计规则同注塑成型非常接近,从而适用于几乎所有产品

精密性: 精密性: MIM净成型精度的参考设计通常是尺寸的± 0.5%。 某些特性净成型能达到±0.3%。如同其它技术一样,精度要求越高成本越高, 因此在质量允许情况下鼓励适度放宽公差要求。 MIM一次成型无法达到的公差可以借助二次深加工实现。

重量和尺寸: 重量和尺寸: MIM特别适合重量小于100克的零部件,少于50克是最经济的。然而,重量达250克的零部件也可以处理。MIM工艺的主要成本是原材料,因此MIM通过新技术来尽可能减少零部件的重量。同塑料产品一样,可以在不影响产品完整性的条件下,通过内核和支架来减少零部件的重量。MIM在极小和微型零部件方面表现突出,重量小于0.1克也是可行的。重量不是限制因素,长度超过250mm的产品也能被处理

薄型化: 薄型化小于6毫米的壁厚对于MIM是最适合的。较厚的外壁也可以,但是成本会由于处理时间长和增加额外材料而增加。另外,低于0.5 mm的极薄壁对MIM也是能实现,但对设计有很高的要求

产量: 产量: MIM是弹性较大的工艺,年需求量几千到几百万的产量能够非常经济地实现。和铸造件、注塑件一样,MIM需要客户投资模具和工具费用,所以对小批量的产品而言,通常会影响到成本估算

原料: 原料: MIM能处理很多材料,包括铁合金、超级合金、钛合金、铜合金、耐火金属、硬质合金、陶瓷和金属基复合材料。虽然有色合金铝和铜在技术上是可行的,但是通常由其他更经济的方式进行处理,如压铸或机加工。请参阅原材料章节了解更多的信息 Please check our materials section for more information.

协助申请: 协助申请: Indo-MIM提供全面协助以实现MIM过程的最大价值。我们帮助您对现有的产品在设计、选材上进行升级,也帮助您进行全套的产品开发服务,包括工业产品设计、技术分析、快速成型、激光扫描

问工程师

DESIGN GUIDELINES

T

oday, MIM is serving critical performance applications in a wide range of industries and products including, automotive, aerospace, consumer electronics, dental implants and instruments, electronic and fiber optic connectors, hermetic packages, surgical instruments and implants, power and hand tools, hardware and sporting gear.

Products most appropriate for MIM usually have the following characteristics.


Complexity: MIM allows the same design freedom as plastic injection molding which gives almost limitless shape capability. Because MIM is a molding process, additional product features do not add cost, which makes MIM ideal for combining individual parts into multi-functional products. Design rules for MIM are very close to that of plastic injection molding thereby making it easy to adapt to almost any product.

Precision: The general guideline for MIM precision of net shape features is ± 0.5% of the dimension. Certain features can be made net shape to ± 0.3%. As with any technology, higher precision equates to higher cost so relaxation of tolerances is encouraged wherever possible. Tolerances that are not capable of being met by MIM alone can be achieved through various finishing processes.

Weight and Size: MIM is best suited for parts weighing less than 100 grams with the most economical applications being less than 50 grams. However, part weights of up to 250 grams have been processed. Raw material is a key cost driver for the MIM process. MIM promotes creative ways to reduce part weight wherever possible. Similar to plastics, coring and ribs can be used to reduce weight without compromising product integrity. MIM excels at extremely small and micro-sized parts with weights of less than 0.1 gram being possible. Weight not being a limiting factor, product lengths in excess of 250 mm can be processed.

Section Thickness: Wall sections of less than 6 mm are most appropriate for the MIM process. While thicker sections are possible, this also drives up cost due to longer processing times and additional material. Alternatively, very thin sections of less than 0.5 mm are possible for MIM to achieve but are highly design dependent.

Production Volumes: MIM is a highly scalable process. Low volume of several thousand parts annually up to millions of parts can be economically achieved. A tooling and engineering investment is necessary for the MIM process similar to casting or plastics, which will normally drive the decision process for low volume products.

Materials: MIM can process a wide array of materials including Ferrous alloys, Nickel and Cobalt base Super alloys, Titanium alloys, Refractory materials, Cemented carbides, Technical ceramics and Metal matrix composites.While non-ferrous alloys such as Aluminum and Copper alloys are technically possible but they are more economically processed by other means such as die casting or machining.Please check our materials section for more information.

Applications Assistance: Indo-MIM provides comprehensive assistance to achieve the most value from the MIM process. We help with migration of existing products in both design conversions and materials selection as we well as a full range of product development services including industrial product design, FEA, rapid prototyping and laser scanning.

ASK ENGINEER

Quick contact